Potomac Section News and Notes


Potomac Section 2017 Annual Meeting POSTED June 18, 2017

The local section held its annual meeting on June 13, 2017 in Gaithersburg.  The new board was installed and the 2017 Industrial Hygienist of the Year award was presented to Kathy Makos.  Congratulations to Kathy and thanks to Bruce for hosting the event! 


jthein2017annualmeeting kmakosihyear2017 mksnowkmakos2017annualmeeting

President-elect Joel Thein 

2017 Potomac Section Industrial Hygienist of the Year

Kathy Makos
Past-president Mary Kay Snow and Kathy Makos



 Potomac Section 2017 Election Results POSTED June 10, 2017


President-Elect -  Kyaw (Joel) Thein

 Joel Thein is a certified industrial hygienist with the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL).  He has 15 years of experience as a safety and health professional and holds a Master of Science Degree in Environmental and Occupational Health Science from Hunter College, the City University of New York (CUNY), and a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health Science from York College, CUNY.  He has served as a Senior Industrial Hygienist with the DOL Office of Worker Safety and Health (OWSH) since 2011 where he is responsible for the overall administration and management of the internal DOL safety, occupational health and workers’ compensation programs.   He is proud to be a part of this area’s very strong and active local section and has benefited from the many networking and learning opportunities offered through the Potomac Section.  Mr. Thein is passionate about environmental health and safety and is eager to create opportunities to learn, share, and engage with others in this varied community of Safety and Health professionals.   It is for this reason that he is expressing his interest in the position of AIHA Potomac Section President-Elect.


Secretary-Elect - Marissa W. Msefya

Ms. Msefya brings more than 15 years of leadership experience and 6 years of admin experience to this position. As a new member of the AIHA local section and a new IH professional, her open mind and creativity can bring a new perspective to the board and overall mission of the local section. She hopes to work with the other board members to conduct more outreach to recent graduates and young professionals and develop into a great IH professional.   She enjoys serving her community and understands the importance of service through a professional organization. In college, she served as the secretary of American Chemical Society NSU branch and held various leadership roles in the student government. Now as a young professional, she continues to serve others in leadership capacities within her church and local community, including Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and the City of Gaithersburg.


Directors 2- year term [2017-2019]

Mr. Charles Bragdon  - The Potomac section has established an excellent program to support IH professionals in the Washington, DC area. He will work to maintain the high standards that have been established, and to bring young professionals into the group.  


Ms. Enjoli DeGrasse- Having a local section that is as active as ours provides great benefits to its members through professional development, networking, and community involvement; she has benefited personally from the connections she has made through the Potomac section therefore has an interest in seeing it flourish through continued growth, development, and outreach.  Ms. De Grasse is interested in sharing her input in developing future goals for the local section as well as my ideas for sustained growth.




The Potomac Section supported the National Capital Area Joint Safety Association Young Professionals Netoworking event.  Read about the details of our outreach activity herePOSTED July 21, 2015



Section members who have retired from industrial hygiene practice may be eligible for Retired Member status.  A Retired Member retains all privileges of a Member of the section but will not be assessed local section dues.  

Contact an AIHA Potomac Section Board member to apply for retired status.  POSTED March 25, 2015